Riding the rails

My kids love to play with trains.  So for the past couple of months, I’ve been working on making them a train table as a Christmas present for their Thomas the Tank Engine trains.  Most of the ones for sale in stores are too expensive and rather small anyway.  I wanted something that all four of them could use at the same time and have plenty of room.  I used a 64″ x 32″ piece of plywood as the table top; some 1″ x 4″ wood planks for the sides, support beams and part of the legs; and 1″ x 3″ wood planks for the other part of the legs.  Here are some pictures of the work in progress and the finished table.

First, I penciled an outline of what I wanted the top to look like.  Since just having land would be rather boring, I made a lake with a river “flowing” through the land.  The outline of the water area can be seen below.

After the top was finished, I painted the legs, sides and braces a bright red.  Here is the bottom of the table complete with sides and braces.

Now to make sure the legs are lined up correctly…

And here is the finished table, complete with trains ready to roll!

From the top

5 Responses

  1. Hey, what a great table! Some of my best memories was setting up our train set on a ping pong table and spending hours “riding the rails”. I’m sure your kids will really appreciate the time and effort you spent to set up such a neat table.

    Keep up the good dad work!
    ~mark

  2. That is awesome!

  3. What a beautiful job! The kids will enjoy this for a long time.

  4. Now THAT is cool! Very good job old man – I am impressed! I am sure the kids love it and you all have the satisfaction of it being home made. Well done!

  5. AWESOME job!! You did great, I bet the kids have a blast with it. I better not show this to my boys, cause I’m not that good with a hammer!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

