Books, books & more books!

I am rather pleased with myself.  At the beginning of 2009, I made a goal to read at least 12 books during the year.  I just finished #30!  This achievement was partly fueled by the availability of audiobooks at our local library.  Since I have about a 25 minute commute to work each day (one way), I decided to make the most of my time by listening to books.  Of the 30 books this year, 14 of them have been audiobooks.  Another contributing factor is the prospect of free books.  This year, I joined several different book review blogger programs with such publishers as Thomas Nelson, Bethany House, & Crossway.  If you like to read and write book reviews, I’d highly recommend checking out each of these publishers’ programs.

The topics for my books have mostly fallen into either theology or history, especially around the period of the founding of America.  A few of the books have been about the Civil War period or events/people surrounding the Civil War.  The best book by far that I read this year was David McCullough’s Truman.  This is an excellent biography of our 33rd president.  In addition to Truman, I was able to read books on Washington, Jackson, Lincoln, and Reagan.

In addition to matching this year’s book count, I want to specifically read more on our presidents.  So, 5 down 39 to go!  My reading list for next year is already starting to take shape.  Here’s what’s on it so far:

  1. Finding Darwin’s God, by Kenneth Miller
  2. On Hallowed Ground: The Story of Arlington National Cemetary, by Robert M. Poole
  3. Sacred Friendships: Celebrating the Legacy of Women Heroes of the Faith, by Robert W. Kelleman and Susan M. Ellis.
  4. Bound for Canaan: The Epic Story of the Underground Railroad, America’s First Civil Rights Movement, by Fergus M. Bordewich
  5. Housing America: Building Out of a Crisis, edited by Benjamin Powell and Randall Holcombe
  6. Abigail Adams: A Life, by Woody Holton
  7. Where is God? Finding His Presence, Purpose  and Power in Difficult Times, by Dr. John Townsend
  8. The Wealth of Nations, by Adam Smith (I’ve been working on recording this one for almost 3 years now and hopefully this will be the year it will be finished!)

That’s all I have for certain right now.  Are there any books on U.S. Presidents (or any for that matter) you would recommend?

One Response

  1. Well done! That is quite an accomplishment for someone who used to chew on them as a toddler!

    I want to recommend a small jewel of a book intitled “A Passion for Books” by Terry W. Glaspey and published by Harvest House Publishers (I just checked and Amazon.com has some used ones listed).

    This little book is filled with quotes from various authors and historical figures about their love for books. E.g., “I have sought for happiness everywhere, but I have found it nowhere except in a little corner with a little book” – Thomas A. Kempis.

    “My best friend is a person who will give me a book I have not read” – Abraham Lincoln.

    “No matter what his rank or position may be, the lover of books is the richest and the happiest of the children of men” – John Alfred Langford.

    “If you cannot read all your books, at any rate handle, or as it were, fondle them–peer into them, let them fall open where they will, read from the first sentence that arrests the eye, set them back on the shelves with your own hands, arrange them on your own plan so that you at least know where they are. Let them be your friends; let them at any rate be your acquaintances” – Winston Churchill.

    Warren W. Wiersbe said, he loved reading because of the joy of meeting people he has always wanted to know. “If it were announced that Hudson Taylor or Charles Spurgeon was speaking at a particular church,” he quipped” Christians from all over the world would show up. But when I open my book, Hudson Taylor opens his mouth. We have a great time together, and these people are my friends.”

    And one more: Charles Spurgeon once said, “He who never reads, will never be read.”

    Just remember: ” And further, by these, my son, be admonished: of making many books there is no end; and much study is a weariness of the flesh” (Ecclesiastes 12:12).

    Happy reading,
    Another lover of books

Leave a Reply

