WG09 – A Brief Note

As I’ve been taking notes and then trying to relay on this blog what all has been going on at the conference, I find myself incredibly struggling with conveying everything that has been going on.  First, I’m a horrible note taker.  I find myself listening to what the speaker is saying and forgetting to write it down.  Then later, I might remember the essence of what was said, but struggle with remembering exactly what was said.  For those reading this, please forgive my lack of being able to communicate what is taught.

But second and perhaps most important, I simply cannot begin to describe the atmosphere of what is going on.  To sit in each of the sessions and being continually reminded of the greatness of God and the beauty of the gospel to undeserving sinners is simply breathtaking.  We hear it in the music and especially from every speaker.  The opening night when we sang “Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing,” it was as people who had tasted of the Living Water that Jesus promises and were so eager and wanting more, it just spilled out into our exuberant singing.  To have this image of the greatness of God continually pointed to over and over throughout this conference has been truly magnificent.  In this morning’s session, we sang “It Is Well With My Soul.” To be honest, I don’t think I got completely through any one verse, I was so overcome with emotion as the goodness of God.  Imagine trying to sing the following verse after being powerfully reminded of God’s glory, his beauty, your own sinfulness, and his never ending grace and forgiveness:

“My sin, oh the bliss of this glorious thought,
My sin, not in part, but the whole,
Is nailed to the cross and I bear it no more
Praise the Lord! Praise the Lord, oh my soul!”

Any words or thoughts I manage to get down in writing will simply not do justice to what I have experienced this week.  My prayer is that this will continue even after the last session on Saturday and I am able to bring these teachings home with me.

God is good.

One Response

  1. Amen and Amen!!!

Leave a Reply

