Worship God ’09

Several months ago, our music leader at church RH asked if I wanted to go with him and several others of the church to the Worship God 09 Conference in Gaithersburg, MD. I did, but decided I couldn’t attend for several different reasons. One was the cost, both of traveling and the conference registration. The other was somewhat selfish of me. I like to reserve my vacation days for times where I can do things together with my family. Going to the conference would mean taking three days off that I wanted to use for something else. Granted, I didn’t have something specific in mind, but you know, “just in case.”

RH was quite persistent. Then, a couple months ago, he called me and said, “I don’t know if it will make a difference to you in whether or not you can go, but the registration cost has been covered. And you are more than welcome to travel with me and share the hotel room.” Wow! So that’s one reason out the window. I began to look at my vacation schedule, how many days I had available, etc., and discovered I had available more days than I had originally thought. How many? Three, to be exact. After talking it over with Sarah, I called RH and told him that I would be very glad to go!

Why do I say all this? I believe that God has shown in these small (for Him!) ways that there is something I need to learn from this conference. The theme of the WG09 is “From Generation to Generation.” As a husband and dad, I know that I so often fail to lead by example in worshiping God both in church and in the home. I came with the purpose of learning how to lead my family to worship the awesome God who has saved us for His own glory.

Wednesday’s opening general session was focused on The God of Worship, with John Piper. Thursday’s first general session will again be Piper on The Heart of Worship, followed in the afternoon by Jeff Purswell on The Leaders of Worship. Friday morning will have The Church of Worship led by Thabiti Anyabwile; Friday afternoon’s general session will be led by Bob Kauflin and CJ Mahaney on the topic of Lessons Learned from Three Decades of Leading. Saturday we’ll close with The Life of Worship, led by Bob Kauflin. There will also be individual sessions during each of the days. Stay tuned as I hope to write more during the course of the next few days.

One Response

  1. I’m so glad that you decided to go!! And I can’t wait to hear all about what you’ve learned!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

